1 year ago today, 20 years ago

One year ago today, I was on the porch of a friend’s house in the rain, slightly early with to a Holiday party wearing a short dress, with a busted phone and no number to reach them. I could not tell if the doorbell was even working on the second floor. I mention the broken phone: you can’t call out but you can cycle through texts. I select the text of a girl I just made friends with. She was diagnosed with cancer on Christmas the year before.

I had to get a new phone the very next day. I didn’t have a computer and even a way to talk/text people makes such a difference when you try to hang out or talk to new and old friends.
Especially around the holidays..

I got to visit with someone I went to high school with. I hadn’t seen her in more than 20 years. Her and I briefly worked together. She had brought her mom on this mini-vacation west too. She too had joined the Army, and left the shitty little town we both were in. It was a real treat for me, and I was happy to see people who knew me before “the change” in my life. I am happy that I got to see someone whose life had moved away from the negative ills that can really culminate in a small town. I’m so grateful to have had this moment.

But for now,I will just enjoy the time off of work until the next festival outing.

Peace!

Lexikat

Leave a Reply

