Technology and Grief

I found out today via Facebook fundraiser that a friend died. (The money goal was passed in a few hours)

What we have left besides the traditional photos are texts, emails, instant messages. Thanks technology. I feel completely useless and struck sideways by a moving bus right now. Because of technology, I’d have to actually print photos to physically have them.

“Let‘s lunch at this cool vegan place next weekend? I can’t wait to meet your partner, she sounds really cool!”

People always want to remember the last conversation they had with a loved one prior to their untimely departure. These “notes” are physical/electronic records of those actual last words.

My friend was the one who showed up “on moving day” which can be the litmus test of who your “real” friends. She and I would randomly joke through texting or instant messages about how crappy rude people are for no reason.

She had just got married 2 weeks ago. Thanks to text messages trying to get together to eat lunch on a weekend, I’ll have those as long as my phone works.

When I dropped my phone in the glass of water on my night stand, she had emailed me about loaning me the money to get another.

She died Thursday the 24th of October, my phone has the last text from 14th of October. No indication of sick or dying. Maybe its in a letter that will show up one day. Maybe not.

When people weren’t so crowded and over-populated on this planet, there were memorials and tombstones left for others to see.
Now we have the last minute conversations-but only while power runs through those circuits.

Our lives now are just some webpage or profile that remains up until the server loses power or is electronically erased from in activity.

Fuck technology.

-Lexikat

Leave a Reply

