So What Kind of Guitarist Am I?

Believe it or not, Its not easy for me to find other musicians who can stand to perform together in either an informal or formal (paying venue) sense.

This is not an “I’m a victim” blog. Its a frustration blog unless we perfect cloning…so its more of an “empowerment blog.”

Female musicians typically have had no problem with me; male musicians have historically had some sort of “hang up” about my “gender status” . It often goes through the typical introduction (through correspondence); an exchange that follows learning about someone’s musical likes and dislikes and then they get around to their “tranny-stamp-of-disapproval” moment. I kind of hold guys to a higher standard after living 35 years socialized and indoctrinated as a boy. I know if there is a sudden disapproval moment where women are concerned, its right at the moment where they are concerned what other people think-no matter their initial “its about the music” and “its not about image” phase.
Or its some weird “sleep with you” moment.

Transsexual guitarist seeks band members to form a band.

So this means that the guitar itself was one gender, and someone either sawed something off, drilled a hole, or added something onto it? My ad simply said: I’m LGBTQ friendly and you should be too.

If I have mentioned that I’m not looking for a date, just musicians to jam with.  I am in a committed partnership with an ovarian cancer survivor.

Lesbian guitarist seeks band members to form a band.

Women even have had less sexual hangups in the dating world according to my experiences even. Its my preference and you really don’t have anything I want because my partner does an amazing job to fill my life.

Metal Guitarist Seeks Musicians Without Hang-ups

Perhaps the world isn’t ready for a guitarist who happens to be a transsexual woman, except the one from Against Me! named Laura Jane Grace. She was lucky to have the band, success, and then transition. I am sure I am oversimplifying her struggle, but just for the context of looking for musicians without a head full of “shit”, I’m a girl who just wants her opportunity to do more than play my amp in an apartment with my supportive partner as an audience. She is an amazing audience-has encouraged me along my way.

Metal-Rock Guitarist: Influences include Laura Jane Grace

I think I found my headline/tagline!

1186076_10151883564844040_581648855_n

Lexikat

2 thoughts on “So What Kind of Guitarist Am I?

Leave a Reply

