How’s Your Guitar Grip: Tight, Loose, or Crazy

I have been around guitars and guitarists most of my life.  The grip of the fret hand sometimes reveals the style of the player. I myself hold very loose and yet have my fingers tight onto the fretboard. I rarely make chords with more than 3 strings, plus my grip allows my fingers to dance up or down a string when my brain says to.

Though I have observed it for a few years, I never really considered how one holds the neck in relation to how they play.

I notice that generally people who primarily play rhythm hold their fingers very tight and very close together. Their grip and attack on the strings is very sure and true. They keep it anchored in the sense of the song is maintained.

Then you have the people who hold on loosely. They live on the edge. They fly by the seat of their pants. But they mostly are guitarists that solo or primarily play lead. The fingers can fly faster without a firm grip on the neck.

Its mostly a theory of mine. I notice videos of my favorite bands with these nuances of loose or tight on the neck.

What kind of grip do you have, and how does it effect your style of playing??

Lexikat

Leave a Reply

