Kip Winger: The Reason Why Joined A High School Band

So…
We eluded to my emerging and passionate guitar influences being Mister Scary himself: George Lynch.

I’d like to say proudly that I first took up an axe (bass guitar in this instance), after seeing the Cinderella-Bullet Boys-Winger concert in 1989. Because the band was looking for a bass player and I wasn’t thinking much on it…until the idea ignited that mid-spring night when I saw Kip (Winger) playing. I saw a lot of joy and energy in him and the crowd. Surely there is something to playing bass guitar? Why not!!
(Besides, I saw Cinderella 3 times!! Mad crush on their bass player Eric Brittingham for a while.)

It (inspiration) wasn’t about technique or tone. It was about entertainment and showmanship: connect with the audience and deliver the goods. I really hadn’t even understood the process that sparked inside.

Reb Beach whom was the lead guitarist of Winger, would influence some of my tonal playing with volume swells and such ater. He is an amazing technical player. ❤

Fast forward to the now: I saw a couple of promos for the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra playing some pieces composed by Kip Winger. Wow-factor of “Infinite” for me, but I didn’t get out to go. The MTV Hair Metal scene hardly showcased Kip’s amazing talent.

The 80’s, 90,s and 00’s came and went. I’m not the wide-eyed teenager I used to be on the outside, but she still stirs inside.

Playing bass did open the door to many great influences as Geddy Lee, Billy Sheehan, Chris Squire, and other “metal” bass players like Jeff Pilson of Dokken, through my fingers and ears. It also opened up the path to guitar/cello/guitar.

And its funny when I got to cello that was indirectly influenced through my path of hair metal, if I think about it.

I can’t help but laugh when I think of things like rednecks trying to make Winger the butt of their joke. I’m like “Really? He has some looks and a lot more success then you’d ever see in your lifetime. I guess success threatens your lifestyle?”

I happily read updates and posts that come through Winger & Kip Winger Facebook pages. I think its like living past a nuclear holocaust or something. My crazy teens or the “Era of Hair Metal.” Both would apply.

Some bands/musicians entertain me.
Some influence me.
Some started the spark inside me.

-Lexikat

Leave a Reply

