Red Fire of the Past

Red Fire of the Past

All lyrics quoted are Copyright 1987 Rush

Hold Your Fire by Rush

It was the summer of 1990. I had just graduated high school.

So then it happened. My first partner was pregnant.
(It cannot be determined specifically that it was mine or not)

Her decision to get an abortion, versus my proposition to have the child and I will gladly take the responsibility alone. No? (Fuck.)

It was the time where you could go and ask the court if you were not 18 to basically agree with your decision and avoid the whole mom-and-dad discussion.

I got into the band Rush starting at their Presto album and worked backwards. The next in the catalog was Hold Your Fire. It was one of their more “intellectual” albums and more of an ambient feel than say Moving Pictures or 2112 

Prime Mover pretty much describes a lot of what went through my head during that summer…
“Basic elemental instinct to survive
Stirs the higher passions
Thrill to be alive

Alternating currents in a tidewater surge
Rational resistance to an unwise urge

Anything can happen…
From the point of conception

To the moment of truth
At the point of surrender
To the burden of proof

From the point of ignition
To the final drive
The point of the journey is not to arrive

Anything can happen…

Basic temperamental filters on our eyes
Alter our perceptions
Lenses polarize

Alternating currents force a show of hands
Rational responses force a change of plans

Anything can happen…

From a point on the compass
To magnetic north
The point of the needle moving back and forth

From the point of entry
Until the candle is burned
The point of departure is not to return

Anything can happen…

I set the wheels in motion
Turn up all the machines
Activate the programs
And run behind the scene

I set the clouds in motion
Turn up light and sound
Activate the window
And watch the world go ’round

From the point of conception
To the moment of truth
At the point of surrender
To the burden of proof

From the point of ignition
To the final drive
The point of a journey
Is not to arrive

Anything can happen.”

(from Mission): “Hold your fire, keep it burning bright.
Hold the flame ’til the dream ignites…
A spirit with a vision, is a dream with a mission.”

(from Time Stand Still):”I turn my back to the wind,
to catch my breath before I start up again”

It took a few years not to blame myself for the decision of another.

(from Lock and Key)”I don’t want to face the killer instinct, face it in you or me”

I listen to that album now and still feel the impact of being 18, but in a better light now.

“The water takes us home…”

Lexikat

2 thoughts on “Red Fire of the Past

Leave a Reply

